Omega 3 - Nicolas AUBINEAU | Sports Dietitian

  Version française

Omega 3

omega 3The cell membrane forms a “fluid mosaic” in which each component can move more or less freely. This membrane fluidity is the basis of the cellular balance, including exchanges between the inside and the outside of the cell.

 

A rigid membrane rich in saturated fatty acids causes little exchange. A flexible membrane rich in polyunsaturated fatty acids facilitates exchanges between the inside and the outside of the cell.

 

Reminder:

  • SFA saturated fatty acids (butyric acid, myristic acid, Palmitic acid, stearic acid,…) are made largely by butter, cold cuts, cheese… the animal fat.
  • Monounsaturated fatty acids MUFAs (oleic acid…) are brought by the olive oils, rapeseed, peanut, avocado… but also duck fat.
  • Polyunsaturated Fatty acids PUFAs (omega 6: Linolenic acid, acid γ-linolenic, arachidonic acid, omega 3: α-linolenic acid, acid meiosis EPA, DHA Docosahexaenoic acid) are brought by the oils of sunflower, corn, grape seed… Rapeseed, soy, hemp, flax… for the omega 3. Regarding the long chained PUFA, EPA and DHA, the main sources are fish from cold seas (herring, mackerel, sardines, anchovies…).

 

Steps of transformation of the omega 3 and 6 series fatty acids

  • Line Omega 6 : Linoleique acid = > Acid γ-linolenic = > Arachidonic acid.
  • Line Omega 3 : Acid α-linolenic = > Meiosis EPA acid = > DHA Docosahexaenoic acid.

 

Linoleic and α-linolenic acids are called “essential” because the body of the animal (including human) does not synthesize them. So they must be provided by the diet. An imbalance of omega 6 (proinflammatory activity) / omega 3 (anti-inflammatory activity) with too much omega 6 regarding omega 3 encourages inflammation phenomena, aggregation and vasoconstriction with risk for our lungs (asthma…), cardiovascular (angina, myocardial infarction…), articular (arthritis…), musculotendinous (tendinitis…) …

 

For example in the cardiovascular level, EPA acid has an action on the reduction of triglycerides (Hyperlipidemia), on the Fibrinogen rate of the blood and consequently, on the platelet aggregation and the risk of heart attack.

 

DHA acid’s action is located at the level of the development of the brain. It has an impact on the retina, the integrity of brain functions, the activity of the adrenal glands, the formation of sperm… This last fatty acid represents 95% of the omega 3 brain fatty acids, which is why it is called cervonic acid.

 

The effects of omega 3

The Omega 3, as the other PUFAs, are essential to cell membranes constituents and provide them with fluidity and stability. It is the keystone of the cellular mechanism, of the organs (heart, liver, kidney, brain…) and consequently of the entire body. The loss of membrane fluidity promotes the occurrence of pathology (= disease). They improve the nervous balance (memory, concentration,…), help to reduce stress, promoting optimism and serenity, decrease the lipemia (cholesterol, triglycerides), platelet aggregation…

 

Omega 3 are indicated in the following cases:

  • Dermatology (eczema, itch, psoriasis…),
  • Pneumology (asthma, particularly in children…),
  • Gastroenterology (ulcer colitis, Crohn’s disease),
  • Gynecology (dysmenorrheas,…).
  • Rheumatology (inflammatory field, joint problems,…),
  • Internal medicine (migraine, diabetes, viral diseases…).

 

If the needs are not covered, there are direct consequences at various levels of the bodiy, and especially in the brain.

 

Neurology

The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of the synapses promote synaptic anxiety and ultimately neurotransmission abnormalities which creates risks of depression, dementia, behaviour disorders, violence… Note: alcohol, nicotine or anxiolytics, which dissipate the stress and anxieties, have the property of temporarily thin cell membranes.

 

Cardiology

The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of myocardial cells promote the anomalies of the ionic exchanges and depolarization, discrepancy of deformability (systole-diastole), cardiomyopathy, HTA, high cholesterol

 

Atherosclerosis : loss of membrane fluidity at the level of cells stiffens the membrane which cannot absorb no more the LDL-cholesterol circulating (at the blood level) for lack of place. This phenomenon causes atherogenesis and hyperagregability.

 

Rheumatology

The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of the bone cells (osteoblast/osteoclast) and cartilage (chondroblast /chondroclast) promotes osteoarthritis and osteoporosis

 

Pneumology

The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of bronchial epithelial cells promotes a deficiency in the phagocytosis of dust and bacteria causing asthma, emphysema, bronchitis, chronic respiratory failure…

 

ORL

The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of the cells in the cochleovestibular promotes hearing disorders (hypoacusia, tinnitus), vertiginous syndromes…

 

Gastroenterology

  • The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of the intestinal cells (enterocytes) promotes the reduction of nutrient capture, the phenomenon of malabsorption, deficiencies in vitamins, minerals, micronutrients…
  • The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of cells in the liver (hepatocytes) promotes disorders of the detoxification and synthesizing metabolism, causing a risk of poisoning, liver failure, liver metabolism disorders of triglycerides (hypertriglyceridemia) and cholesterol (hypercholesterolemia with hyper-LDL-cholesterolemia)…

 

Nephrology

The loss of membrane fluidity at the level of renal cells promotes a deficiency in plasma, troubles of osmotic pressure filtration, or even a risk of kidney failure…

Needs in omega 3

Contributions recommended in omega 3 are between 2 and 3 g per day for adults (including = 500 minimum mg EPA + DHA intake). As seen previously, the precursor of the omega 3 is the acid alpha linolenic of which desaturation and elongation lead to two fatty acids, EPA and DHA. They are the two fatty acids we’re talking about when it comes to omega 3.

 

Omega 3 intake

Omega 3 are mainly present in fatty fish from cold seas as in nuts and vegetable oils like rapeseed, soy, nuts… The cooking method, the origin of the fish, the geographical origin of the animal, its food, the temperature of the water… can change the input. Fatty acids are fragile to cook.

 

Special case of DHA acid (acid cervonic)

The DHA is preponderant in the brain and represents 95% of the omega 3 brain fatty acids, hence its name cervonic acid. It brings the fluidity necessary for good circulation of electrical impulses. Without sufficient DHA the brain cannot function normally.

 

Disruption of the Omega 3/6 report in favor of the omega-6 promotes the production of inflammatory molecules (prostaglandins). A reduction in DHA acid destabilizes the production of prostaglandins, creating inflammation at the origin of the “syndrome of irritation of the brain” whose mental illness is the consequence.

 

Low levels of DHA have been linked to low levels of serotonin, even in correlation with an increase in trends to depression, the risk of suicide, violence…

 

In conclusion…

The issue of omega 3 must be integrated into a global vision, in interaction with other nutrients (carbohydrates, protein, fat, vitamins, minerals, trace elements,…), and not taken in an isolated manner as part of the nutritional schemes of the sportsman. Omega 3 are not a myth, it is a reality, and their daily consumption is far too low. So, to your plates…
Kind regards.

 

Nicolas AUBINEAU
Sports Dietitian Nutritionist

Summary
You have loved? Rate this article!
Article Name
Omega 3 - Nicolas AUBINEAU | Sports Dietitian
Description
Omega 3 is not a myth, it is a reality and their daily consumption is much too low. So, on your plates ...
Author
Publisher Name
Nicolas Aubineau
Publisher Logo
5 Based on 13 Note(s)

Share on Facebook

Leave a Reply

Nicolas Aubineau
6official degrees
around nutrition
(Sport, Health, Prevention)
+ 700 000visitors per year
on the site
+ 900sports
followed
+ 15 000patients
followed

Follow me on Facebook

Who i am?

Nicolas AubineauFrench Clinic and Sports Dietitian Nutritionist, I created this site to meet the needs of athletes in sports nutrition.

You will find many free articles and home recipes. I also propose personalized diet plans for those who prepare a competition, seek a nutritional balance corresponding to their way of life and their sporting activity.

Good reading !

Omega 3 - Nicolas AUBINEAU

Zoom sur des nutriments, des actifs et leurs importances pour le sportif au quotidien ou le jour j.

Omega 3

omega 3La membrane cellulaire forme une « mosaïque fluide » dans laquelle chaque composant peut se mouvoir plus ou moins librement. Cette fluidité membranaire est la base de l’équilibre cellulaire, notamment des échanges entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur de la cellule. 

 

Une membrane rigide riche en acides gras saturés entraîne peu d’échanges. Une membrane souple riche en acides gras polyinsaturés facilite les échanges entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur de la cellule.

 

Pour rappel :

  • Les acides gras saturés AGS (acide butyrique, acide myristique, acide palmitique, acide stéarique…) sont apportés en grande partie par le beurre, charcuteries, fromages…les matières grasses animales.
  • Les acides gras monoinsaturés AGMI (acide oléique…) sont apportés par les huiles d’olive , colza, arachide , l’avocat… mais aussi la graisse de canard.
  • Les acides gras poly-insaturés AGPI (oméga 6 : acide Linoléïque, acide γ-Linolénique, acide Arachidonique ; oméga 3 : acide α-Linolénique, acide Eïcosapentaénoïque EPA, acide Docosahexaénoïque DHA) sont apportés par les huiles de tournesol, maïs, pépins de raisins… pour les oméga 6 et colza, soja, chanvre, lin… pour les oméga 3. Concernant les AGPI à longue chaîne EPA et DHA, les principales sources sont les poissons des mers froides (hareng, maquereau, sardine, anchois…).

 

Etapes de transformation des acides gras des séries oméga 3 et 6

  • Lignée Oméga 6 : Ac. Linoléïque => Ac. γ-Linolénique => Ac. Arachidonique
  • Lignée Oméga 3 : Ac. α-Linolénique => Ac. Eïcosapentaénoïque EPA => Ac. Docosahexaénoïque DHA

Les acides linoléique et α-linolénique sont dits « essentiels » car l’organisme animal (humain compris) ne sait pas les synthétiser. Ils doivent donc impérativement être apportés par l’alimentation. Un déséquilibre oméga 6 (activité pro-inflammatoire)/oméga 3 (activité anti-inflammatoire) avec trop d’oméga 6 au regard des oméga 3 favorise les phénomènes d’inflammation, d’agrégation, et de vasoconstriction avec plus de risques aux niveaux pulmonaire (asthme…), cardiovasculaire (angine de poitrine, Infarctus du myocarde…), articulaire (arthrite…), musculotendineux (tendinite..)…

 

Pour exemple au niveau cardiovasculaire, l’acide EPA a une action sur la diminution du taux de triglycérides (hyperlipidémies), du taux du fibrinogène sanguin et in fine de l’agrégation plaquettaire et du risque d’infarctus.

 

Quant à l’acide DHA, son action se situe au niveau du développement du cerveau et de la rétine, de l’intégrité des fonctions cérébrales, de l’activité des glandes surrénales, de la formation des spermatozoïdes… Ce dernier acide gras représente 95% des AG oméga 3 du cerveau, d’où son nom d’acide cervonique.

 

Les effets des oméga 3

Les Oméga 3, comme les autres AGPI, sont les constituants essentiels des membranes cellulaires et leur assurent fluidité et stabilité, clé de voûte du fonctionnement cellulaire, des organes (cœur, foie, rein, cerveau…) et donc de l’organisme. La perte de la fluidité membranaire favorise la survenue de pathologie (= maladie). Ils améliorent l’équilibre nerveux (mémoire, concentration…), aident à réduire le stress, favorisant optimisme et sérénité, diminuent la lipémie (cholestérol, triglycérides), l’agrégation plaquettaire…

Les omégas 3 sont indiqués dans les cas suivants :

  • Dermatologie (eczéma, démangeaisons, psoriasis…),
  • Pneumologie (asthme, notamment chez l’enfant…),
  • Gastroentérologie (colites ulcéreuses, maladie de Crohn…),
  • Gynécologie (dysménorrhées, …),
  • Rhumatologie (terrain inflammatoire, problèmes articulaires…),
  • Médecine interne (migraine, diabète, pathologies virales…).

Si les besoins ne sont pas couverts, il y a des conséquences directes au niveau des différents organes et notamment au niveau cérébral.

Neurologie

La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des synapses favorisent des anomalies de la neurotransmission synaptique anxiété et in fine les risques de dépression, de démence, de troubles du comportement, de violence… Remarque : l’alcool, la nicotine ou les anxiolytiques, qui dissipent le stress et les angoisses, ont la propriété de fluidifier temporairement les membranes cellulaires.

Cardiologie

La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules myocardiques favorisent les anomalies des échanges ioniques et de la dépolarisation, anomalie de la déformabilité (systole-diastole), cardiomyopathie, HTA, hypercholestérolémie …

Athérosclérose: La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules rigidifie la membrane de celles-ci qui ne peuvent donc plus absorber le LDL-cholestérol circulant (au niveau sanguin) faute de place. Ce phénomène provoque athérogénicité et hyperagrégabilité.

Rhumatologie

La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules osseuses (ostéoblaste/ostéoclaste) et cartilagineuses (chondroblaste/chondroclaste) favorise l’arthrose et l’ostéoporose…

Pneumologie

La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules épithéliales bronchiques favorise une déficience dans la phagocytose des poussières et bactéries entraînant asthme, emphysème, bronchite chronique, insuffisance respiratoire…

ORL

La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules de l’appareil cochléo-vestibulaire favorisent les troubles de l’audition (hypo-acousies, acouphènes), les syndromes vertigineux…

Gastroentérologie

– La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules de l’intestin (entérocytes) favorise la diminution de capture des nutriments, le phénomène de malabsorption, les déficiences voire carences en vitamines, minéraux, oligo-éléments…

– La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules du foie (hépatocytes) favorise les troubles des métabolismes de détoxication et de synthèse provoquant un risque d’intoxications, d’insuffisance hépatique, de troubles du métabolisme hépatique des triglycérides (Hypertriglycéridémie) et du cholestérol (Hypercholestérolémie avec hyper-LDL-cholestérolémie)

Néphrologie

La perte de fluidité membranaire au niveau des cellules rénales favorise une déficience dans la filtration plasmatique, trouble de la pression osmotique, voire un risque d’insuffisance rénale…

 

Besoins en oméga 3

Les apports conseillés en oméga 3 sont entre 2 et 3g par jour chez l’adulte (dont l’apport en EPA + DHA = 500 mg minimum). Comme vu précédemment, le précurseur des oméga 3 est l’acide alpha linolénique dont la désaturation et l’allongement conduisent aux deux acides gras EPA et DHA, acides gras dont on parle lorsqu’il est question d’oméga 3.

 

Apports en oméga 3

Les oméga 3 sont principalement présents dans les poissons gras des mers froides ainsi que dans les noix et huiles végétales type colza, soja, noix… Le mode de cuisson, la provenance des poissons, l’origine géographique de l’animal, sa nourriture, la température de l’eau…peuvent changer l’apport. Les acides gras sont fragiles à la cuisson.

 

Cas particulier de l’acide DHA (acide cervonique)

Le DHA est prépondérant au niveau cérébral et représente 95% des AG oméga 3 du cerveau, d’où son nom acide cervonique. Il apporte la fluidité nécessaire à la bonne circulation des impulsions électriques. Sans un apport suffisant en DHA le cerveau ne peut fonctionner normalement.

La perturbation du rapport Oméga 3/6 en faveur des oméga 6 favorise la production de molécules (prostaglandines) pro-inflammatoires. Une diminution de l’acide DHA déstabilise la production de prostaglandines créant une inflammation à l’origine du « syndrome d’irritation du cerveau » dont la maladie mentale serait la conséquence.

De faibles taux de DHA ont été reliés à de faibles taux de sérotonine eux même en corrélation avec une augmentation des tendances à la dépression, aux risques de suicides, de violence…

 

En conclusion…

La question des oméga 3 doit être intégrée dans une vision globale, en interaction avec les autres nutriments (glucides, protides, lipides, vitamines, minéraux, oligo-éléments…), et non prise de façon isolée dans les schémas d’accompagnement nutritionnel chez le sportif.

Les oméga 3 ne sont pas un mythe, c’est une réalité et leur consommation quotidienne est beaucoup trop faible. Alors, à vos assiettes…

 

Cordialement.

Nicolas AUBINEAU
Diététicien Nutritionniste du Sport et en clinique

Vous souhaitez avoir un suivi alimentaire personnalisé ? Voir les plus-values.

 

© Pixabay.com / PublicDomainPictures
© Pixabay.com / PaelmerPhotoArts

Résumé
Vous avez aimé? Notez cet article!
Nom de l article
Oméga 3 - Nicolas Aubineau
Description
Les oméga 3 ne sont pas un mythe, c’est une réalité et leur consommation quotidienne est beaucoup trop faible. Alors, à vos assiettes…
Auteur
Nom du publieur
Nicolas Aubineau
Logo du publieur
4.5 Basé sur 169 Note(s)

Partager sur Facebook Partager sur Viadeo

Laisser un commentaire

Articles conseillés

Alimentation trail

alimentation trail

Discipline très énergivore, le trail nécessite une préparation physique, pscyhique, alimentaire adaptée. Voici mes conseils.

Lire l'article

Boisson de récupération

boisson de récupération

C'est la boisson la plus importante en période de préparation physique et pourtant c'est celle qui est le plus oubliée. Explications.

Lire l'article

Hydratation et sport

bouteille hydratation sport

Comment adapter son hydratation en fonction de votre phase d'entraînement et de la température?

Lire l'article
Nicolas Aubineau
6diplômes officiels
autour de la nutrition
(Sport, Santé, Prévention)
+ 700 000visiteurs par an
sur le site
+ 900sportifs
suivis
+ 15 000patients
suivis

Suivez moi sur Facebook

Liens

AFDN entrainement triathlon Cardiocean Croix rouge française trail coaching nutrition Livre athlete food Marathon food

INSCRIPTION NEWSLETTER

Nous respectons votre vie privée, vous pouvez vous désincrire quand vous le souhaitez

Fermer la fenêtre


Si vous souhaitez être au top sur l'alimentation sportive, inscrivez-vous à ma newsletter bimensuelle et recevez en EXCLUSIVITÉ et GRATUITEMENT mes nouveaux articles !

  • Comparatif des produits énergétiques du marché
  • Conseils alimentaires par sport
  • Recettes maison
  • Intérêts des nutriments, ingrédients